Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement graphic with Texas flag

Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement

The Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you presented a forged or false financial statement to be filed. Learn more detailed information about the Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement offense below.

Have you been charged with Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.

Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 8 “Offenses Against Public Administration”, Chapter 37 “Perjury And Other Falsification.”

What is the current Texas law about Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement?

The current Texas law is as follows:1

(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly presents for filing or causes to be presented for filing a financing statement that the person knows:

(1) is forged;

(2) contains a material false statement; or

(3) is groundless.

How can I be charged with Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement?

You can be charged with Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 37.101(a) as described in the section above have been met.

What is the punishment for Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement?

If the offense is prosecuted under subsection (a)(1), then a conviction Fraudulent Filing of Financing Statement conviction is punishable as a Third Degree Felony,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time from 2 to 10 years, unless the below enhancement applies.

If the offense is prosecuted under subsection (a)(1) and the state’s attorney prove that you have been previously convicted on two or more occasions of a violation of (a)(1), then the conviction can be enhanced to a Felony of the Second Degree,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time from 2 to 20 years.

If the offense is prosecuted under subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3), then it is punished as a Class A misdemeanor,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to one year, unless the state’s attorneys prove that you had the intent to defraud or harm someone, in which case it is punished as a state jail misdemeanor.2 Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors


Legal References:

1 Texas Penal Code §37.101

2 Texas Penal Code §37.101(b)

Recent Case Results

  • 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
  • 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
  • Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
  • 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
  • Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
  • Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
  • Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
  • Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
  • Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
  • United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
  • ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
  • Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
  • Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
  • Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
  • Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
  • 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
  • Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
  • Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
  • Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed