Manslaughter Lawyer Image

Manslaughter

The Manslaughter crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you caused someone’s death by doing something reckless. Manslaughter is one of several Texas crimes that you might be charged with if you are involved in deadly incident. You might also be charged with Intoxication Manslaughter, Criminally Negligent Homicide, Murder or Capital Murder. Except for Intoxication Manslaughter, these are all considered Criminal Homicide charges.1 Learn more detailed information about the Manslaughter offense below.

Have you been charged with Manslaughter? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305.

Manslaughter is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 5 “Offenses Against The Person”, Chapter 19 “Criminal Homicide.”

What is the law in Texas about Manslaughter?

The offense is described in Section 19.04 of the Texas Penal Code.

(a) A person commits an offense if he recklessly causes the death of an individual.

How can I be charged with Manslaughter?

You can be charged with Manslaughter if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 19.04(a) as described in the section above have been met. Sometimes manslaughter charges might be the result of a plea bargain where a person was initially charged with a higher grade of Criminal Homicide like Murder.

What is the punishment for Manslaughter?

A conviction for Manslaughter is punished as a Felony of the Second Degree,1 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 20 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors


Legal References:

1 Texas Penal Code Section 19.01(b)

2 Texas Penal Code Section 19.04(b)