If your driver’s license is suspended, but you still need to drive to work, pick up your children, buy groceries, take care of someone who is disabled or elderly, go to school or drive for any other essential need, we can help you get your Occupational Driver’s License. We make the process simple, fast and inexpensive. Contact us at (888) 239-9305 or send us a message online.
License suspensions for:
- Unpaid Tickets
- ALR Hearing Suspension
- DPS Suspension
- Habitual Offender Status
- No Insurance
- Or many other reasons
We can handle everything for you and help you obtain an occupational driver’s license that will allow you to drive for work, school, household duties and other “essential needs” if your license has been suspended. The rules for obtaining an occupational license vary somewhat depending on your particular circumstances, and they can be complex.
In addition, the law was updated recently (effective September 1, 2015), and many people are unfamiliar with the new law’s advantages and disadvantages. Attempting to get an occupational license yourself can be a costly mistake.
In some counties, we may be able to get your Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) on the same day or in one business day through our expedited service.* You may qualify for an Occupational Driver’s License in the county in which you live or the county in which the offense occurred that gave rise to the license suspension. If you need an Occupational Driver’s License quickly, our fast Expedited Service may be for you.
We regularly obtain occupational licenses in: Dallas and the greater Dallas County, Fort Worth and greater Tarrant County, Houston and greater Harris County, Austin and greater Travis County, San Antonio and greater Bexar County, Plano, Mckinney and greater Collin County, Denton, Rockwall an Montgomery County.
Our process is simple. You will need to fill out our form, pay our invoice and speak with our occupational driver’s license attorney. Then you will need to sign and notarize the petition, obtain an SR-22 Financial Responsibility Form and pay the county filing fee. Learn more about the process to obtain an Occupational Driver’s License
A typical Occupational Driver’s License will automatically allow you to drive up to four (4) hours per day, but under certain circumstances, we may be able to get you up to twelve (12) hours of drive time. However, “interlock ODLs” under the new occupational license law are not subject to the same limitations.1 Texas Occupational Driver’s License laws are technical and complex, but with an experienced Occupational Driver’s License attorney you get the service and support you need to get you back driving fast. The laws may seem straightforward at first, but in practice there are many ways that we have developed to make the process faster and obtain better outcomes for our clients. In some cases we can get you a flexible driving schedule, allowing you to drive any time of day. But some courts prefer you use a driving schedule. For example:
Monday – Friday – 8 a.m. – 10 a.m.; 5 p.m. – 8 p.m. (4 hours)
Saturday – Sunday – 9 a.m. – 9 p.m. (12 hours)
Please read our FAQ page about Texas Occupational Driver’s Licenses. If you have more questions, read our page about Occupational Driver’s License Laws
Do not wait to obtain your Occupational License. Driving with a suspended license is a crime.
If you are pulled over while your license is suspended, you will get a DWLI (Driving While License Invalid) ticket or worse. However, if you have an occupational license, you will not receive a ticket so long as you are driving within the parameters of the ODL. Do not risk it. Get an Occupational Driver’s License today. Check your license eligibility now on the Texas DPS website
We can work on reinstating your Texas driver’s license, but in the meantime, you should maintain your driving privileges to maintain your job, your family and your life through an Occupational Driver’s License. Have an experienced lawyer obtain the occupational license for you and save yourself the hassle and get it done fast and right. Call us now: (888) 239-9305. We’ll send you our ODL Form and invoice to get started.
Important Information about Texas Occupational Driver’s Licenses
- Occupational Driver’s Licenses are not the same as Hardship Licenses.
- Occupational Driver’s Licenses do not reinstate your original driving privileges
- Important limitations may apply to your Occupational Driver’s License, including: times of day driving is allowed, the amount of driving you can do, where you are allowed to drive and, for DWI license suspensions, an ignition interlock device may be required
What is on our Occupational Driver’s License form?
Our form that we ask you to fill out has basic personal information as well as information about your driving history and about the circumstances under which your license is suspended. If you have any trouble filling out the form, you can always call us or stop by our Dallas office with questions. You can sign up remotely via email or fax, and we also text message frequently.
You can pay our invoice via cash, credit/debit card, money order or check. We make the process of getting your Occupational Driver’s License as easy as possible. Our Texas Occupational Driver’s License Attorney is also available to answer any questions you might have about the process.
How long is the Occupational Driver’s License valid?
Your Occupational Driver’s License is typically valid through the period of suspension, but you may need to get the license renewed. Additionally, the certified copy of the Order for an Occupational Driver’s License that you will receive after the Occupational Driver’s License Attorney has gone to court for you is valid for only 45 days (under the old law, it was only 30 days). So you will need to send in the Order as soon as possible to DPS so that they can issue you your “permanent” Occupational Driver’s License.
We will send you detailed information in emails that will describe every step of the process in detail and what specifically you will need to do. Once you hire our attorney to get your Occupational Driver’s License, you will not have anything else to worry about other than driving safely.
*Not everyone qualifies for expedited service. Please call us to see if we the expedited service is available in your case.
1Texas Transportation Code Section 521.246. See our discussion about this provision on our ODL Law page