The Dog Fighting crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you caused a dog to fight with another dog, own a property and allowed dog fighting, participated in gambling on dog fighting, owned or train a dog to fight, or attended a dog fight. Learn more detailed information about the Dog Fighting offense below.
DOG FIGHTING ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Dog Fighting? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305.
Dog Fighting is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 9 “Offenses Against Public Order And Decency”, Chapter 42 “Disorderly Conduct And Related Offenses.”
The offense is described in Section 42.10 of the Texas Penal Code.
(a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly:
(1) causes a dog to fight with another dog;
(2) participates in the earnings of or operates a facility used for dog fighting;
(3) uses or permits another to use any real estate, building, room, tent, arena, or other property for dog fighting;
(4) owns or possesses dog-fighting equipment with the intent that the equipment be used to train a dog for dog fighting or in furtherance of dog fighting;
(5) owns or trains a dog with the intent that the dog be used in an exhibition of dog fighting; or
(6) attends as a spectator an exhibition of dog fighting.
You can be charged with Dog Fighting if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 42.10(a) as described in the section above have been met.
If the offense falls under subsection (a)(4), (5) or (6), then a conviction for Dog Fighting is punished as a Class A misdemeanor,1 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to 20 years.
If the offense falls under subsection (a)(1), (2) or (3), then a conviction for Dog Fighting is punished as a State Jail Felony,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and jail time of up to two years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
1 Texas Penal Code Section 42.10(e)
2 Texas Penal Code Section 42.10(e)