Trademark Counterfeiting: Texas Penal Code §32.23

Texas Criminal Law

2026 Client Champion Award for Attorney Paul Saputo rendered in light grey over transparent background

The Texas Trademark Counterfeiting law makes it a crime to intentionally manufacture, display, advertise, distribute, offer for sale, sell, or possess with intent to sell or distribute a counterfeit mark or an item or service that bears or is identified by a counterfeit mark.

The Texas Legislature codified this criminal offense in Texas Penal Code Section 32.23. The Legislature did not update this law in 2025. In fact, this law has not been amended since 2015.

Have you been charged with Trademark Counterfeiting? Contact us today to discuss legal representation.

or Text or Call (469) 422-7248

However, in 2025, the Legislature extended the limitations period for all Chapter 32 felonies, including felony versions of this offense, to seven years for conduct occurring on or after September 1, 2025.

The Penal Code classifies the Texas Trademark Counterfeiting law under Title 7 “Offenses Against Property,” Chapter 32 “Fraud.” Learn more about the Texas offense of Trademark Counterfeiting below.

What is the current Texas law about Trademark Counterfeiting?

Texas Penal Code §32.23 currently defines Trademark Counterfeiting as follows:[1]

(b) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally manufactures, displays, advertises, distributes, offers for sale, sells, or possesses with intent to sell or distribute a counterfeit mark or an item or service that:

(1) bears or is identified by a counterfeit mark; or

(2) the person knows or should have known bears or is identified by a counterfeit mark.

What is the penalty for a Texas Trademark Counterfeiting offense?

If the retail value of the item or service is less than $100 then a conviction for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas is punished as a Class C misdemeanor,[2] with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $500.

If the retail value of the item or service is $100 or more but less than $750 then a conviction for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas is punished as a Class B misdemeanor,[3] with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to 180 days.

If the retail value of the item or service is $750 or more but less than $2,500 then a conviction for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas is punished as a Class A misdemeanor,[4] with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to one year.

If the retail value of the item or service is $2,500 or more but less than $30,000 then a conviction for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas is punished as a state jail felony,[5] with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and jail time of up to two years.

If the retail value of the item or service is $30,000 or more but less than $150,000 then a conviction for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas is punished as a Felony of the Third Degree,[6] with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years.

If the retail value of the item or service is $150,000 or more but less than $300,000 then a conviction for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas is punished as a Felony of the Second Degree,[7] with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 20 years.

If the retail value of the item or service is $300,000 or more then a conviction for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas is punished as a Felony of the First Degree,[8] with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and up to life in prison.

How can I be charged with a Trademark Counterfeiting offense in Texas?

You can be charged with Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of §32.23(b)(1) or (2), as described in the section above, has been met.

What is the statute of limitations for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas?

Misdemeanor level Trademark Counterfeiting charges have a two-year limitations period.[9] Felony level Trademark Counterfeiting charges have a seven-year limitations period for offenses occurring on or after September 1, 2025.[10] For conduct before September 1, 2025, the limitations period for felonies is three years, the default felony limitations period under prior law, and the new seven-year period does not revive prosecutions already barred before that date.[11]

Can you get probation for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas?

Yes. Probation is generally available for Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas. The Texas Code of Criminal Procedure allows both judges and juries to grant community supervision, commonly called probation, for Trademark Counterfeiting, and judges may also grant deferred adjudication community supervision.[12]

However, important restrictions apply. Neither a judge nor a jury may grant community supervision if the imposed term of imprisonment exceeds 10 years.[13] Additionally, a judge may not grant community supervision after a conviction if (1) the defendant used or exhibited a deadly weapon during the commission of the felony or immediate flight thereafter and (2) the defendant used or exhibited the deadly weapon himself or was a party to the offense and knew that a deadly weapon would be used or exhibited.[14]

What level of crime is Trademark Counterfeiting in Texas?

The Penal Code classification of the punishment for Trademark Counterfeiting ranges from a Class C misdemeanor to a first degree felony, depending on the value of the item or service.

Learn more about the penalty range for this offense in the section above.



Arrested or Charged With a Crime?

Exit mobile version