The Advertising for Placement of Child crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you were involved in advertising for an adoption. Learn more detailed information about the Advertising for Placement of Child offense below.
ADVERTISING FOR PLACEMENT OF CHILD ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Advertising for Placement of Child? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
Advertising for Placement of Child is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 6 “Offenses Against The Family”, Chapter 25 “Offenses Against The Family.”
The current Texas law is as follows:1
(a) A person commits an offense if the person advertises in the public media that the person will place a child for adoption or will provide or obtain a child for adoption.
You can be charged with Advertising for Placement of Child if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 25.09(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Advertising for Placement of Child is punished by default as a Class A misdemeanor,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to one year.
However, if a person has previously been convicted of this crime, then a conviction for Advertising for Placement of Child is punished as a Felony of the Third Degree,3 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors