The Aggravated Kidnapping crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you have abducted another person under one of the additional circumstances listed in the statute, such as an intent to abuse the victim sexually, cause bodily injury, terrorize them, or hold them hostage for a reward. The statute also applies if the state’s attorneys can prove that used a deadly weapon during the kidnapping. Learn more detailed information about the Aggravated Kidnapping offense below.
AGGRAVATED KIDNAPPING ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Aggravated Kidnapping? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
Aggravated Kidnapping is not simply an enhanced Kidnapping offense, it is an entirely different offense. Learn more about the Kidnapping offense in Texas here
Aggravated Kidnapping is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 5 “Offenses Against The Person”, Chapter 20 “Kidnapping, Unlawful Restraint, and Smuggling of Persons.”
The current Texas law is as follows:1
There are two ways that the offense can be committed, one way is described in subsection (a) and the other in subsection (b).
(a) A person commits an offense if he intentionally or knowingly abducts another person with the intent to:
(1) hold him for ransom or reward;
(2) use him as a shield or hostage;
(3) facilitate the commission of a felony or the flight after the attempt or commission of a felony;
(4) inflict bodily injury on him or violate or abuse him sexually;
(5) terrorize him or a third person; or
(6) interfere with the performance of any governmental or political function.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly abducts another person and uses or exhibits a deadly weapon during the commission of the offense.
You can be charged with Aggravated Kidnapping if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 20.04(a) or 20.04(b) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Aggravated Kidnapping is punished as a felony of the first degree,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and up to life in prison, unless you can prove, by a preponderance of the evidence, that you voluntarily released the victim in a safe place, in which case it is punished as a felony of the second degree.3 There is a very big difference in the maximum punishment between first and second degree felonies. The maximum punishment for a felony of the second degree is 20 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed