The Aiding Suicide crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you promote or help someone commit or try to commit suicide Learn more detailed information about the Aiding Suicide offense below.
AIDING SUICIDE ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Aiding Suicide? Book a consultation to discuss legal representation with criminal defense attorney Paul Saputo today.
There are many laws regarding suicide in Texas. Take a look at an interesting white paper on the subject here
Aiding Suicide is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 5 “Offenses Against The Person”, Chapter 22 “Assaultive Offenses.”
What is the current Texas Law about Aiding Suicide?
The current Texas law defines the offense of Aiding Suicide in Penal Code Section §22.08 as follows:
(a) A person commits an offense if, with intent to promote or assist the commission of suicide by another, he aids or attempts to aid the other to commit or attempt to commit suicide.
How can I be charged with Aiding Suicide?
You can be charged with Aiding Suicide if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 22.08(a) as described in the section above have been met.
What is the punishment for Aiding Suicide?
A conviction for Aiding Suicide is punished as a Class C misdemeanor, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $500, unless you actually caused a suicide or serious bodily injury (from an attempted suicide), in which case a conviction for Aiding Suicide is punished as a State Jail Felony, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and jail time of up to two years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
^1. Texas Penal Code §22.08^2. Texas Penal Code §22.08(b)^3. Texas Penal Code §22.08(b)