The Bigamy crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you married someone while you were still married to someone else. Learn more detailed information about the Bigamy offense below.
BIGAMY ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Bigamy? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
Bigamy is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 6 “Offenses Against The Family,” Chapter 25 “Offenses Against The Family.”
The current Texas law is as follows:1
(a) An individual commits an offense if:
(1) he is legally married and he:
(A) purports to marry or does marry a person other than his spouse in this state, or any other state or foreign country, under circumstances that would, but for the actor’s prior marriage, constitute a marriage; or
(B) lives with a person other than his spouse in this state under the appearance of being married; or
(2) he knows that a married person other than his spouse is married and he:
(A) purports to marry or does marry that person in this state, or any other state or foreign country, under circumstances that would, but for the person’s prior marriage, constitute a marriage; or
(B) lives with that person in this state under the appearance of being married.
You can be charged with Bigamy if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 25.01(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Bigamy is punished by default as a Felony of the Third Degree,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
However, if the person you married is 17, then a conviction for Bigamy is punished as a Felony of the Second Degree,3 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 20 years.
And if the person you married is 16 years old or younger, then a conviction for Bigamy is punished as a Felony of the First Degree,4 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and life in prison.
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed