Continuous Trafficking of Persons graphic with Texas flag

Continuous Trafficking of Persons

The Continuous Trafficking of Persons crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you engaged in trafficking more than one person two or more times within a 30 day duration. Learn more detailed information about the Continuous Trafficking of Persons offense below.

Effective September 1, 2017, Continuous Trafficking of Persons was added to the list of offenses that, upon conviction, require you to register as a sex offender, but only under certain circumstances – only convictions where the underlying Trafficking of Persons offense is a violation of Section 20A.02(a)(3), (4), (7), or (8) are registrable offenses.1

Have you been charged with Continuous Trafficking of Persons? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.

Continuous Trafficking of Persons is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 5 “Offenses Against The Person,” Chapter 20A “Trafficking Of Persons.”

What is the current Texas law about Continuous Trafficking of Persons?

The current Texas law is as follows:2

(a) A person commits an offense if, during a period that is 30 or more days in duration, the person engages two or more times in conduct that constitutes an offense under Section 20A.02 against one or more victims.

How can I be charged with Continuous Trafficking of Persons?

You can be charged with Continuous Trafficking of Persons if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 20A.03(a) as described in the section above have been met.

What is the punishment for Continuous Trafficking of Persons?

A conviction for Continuous Trafficking of Persons is punished as a Felony of the First Degree with a minimum term of confinement of 25 years in prison3 and a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and up to life in prison. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors


Legal References:

1 Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 62.001(5)(L), as created by H.B. 29, 85th Legislature, Section 15, effective September 1, 2017

2 Texas Penal Code §20.A03.

3 Texas Penal Code §20A.03(e)

Published by Criminal Defense Attorney on and last modified