The Continuous Violence Against the Family crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you assault a family member (and family is broadly defined) on two or more occasions within a twelve month period. Learn more detailed information about the Continuous Violence Against the Family offense below.
CONTINUOUS VIOLENCE AGAINST THE FAMILY ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Continuous Violence Against the Family? Book a consultation to discuss legal representation with criminal defense attorney Paul Saputo today.
Continuous Violence Against the Family is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 6 “Offenses Against The Family,” Chapter 25 “Offense Against The Family.”
The current Texas law defines the offense of Continuous Violence Against the Family in Penal Code Section §25.11 as follows:
(a) A person commits an offense if, during a period that is 12 months or less in duration, the person two or more times engages in conduct that constitutes an offense under Section 22.01(a)(1) against another person or persons whose relationship to or association with the defendant is described by Section 71.0021(b), 71.003, or 71.005, Family Code.
You can be charged with Continuous Violence Against the Family if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 25.11(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Continuous Violence Against the Family is punished as a Felony of the Third Degree, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors