The Contraband in Correctional Facility crime in the state of Texas makes it illegal to provide contraband to an inmate or and for inmates to possess contraband in a correctional facility. Contraband means practically anything prohibited by staff at the correctional facility, but does not include prohibited substances (like alcohol, weapons, cell phones and drugs) that you could be prosecuted for under a different law called “Prohibited Substances and Items in Correctional Facility.” Learn more detailed information about the Contraband in Correctional Facility offense below.
CONTRABAND IN CORRECTIONAL FACILITY ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Contraband in Correctional Facility? Book a consultation to discuss legal representation with criminal defense attorney Paul Saputo today.
Contraband also includes items that would not ordinarily be contraband but have been modified to be used in a manner that would make them contraband.
Contraband in Correctional Facility is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 8 “Offenses Against Public Administration”, Chapter 38 “Obstructing Governmental Operation.”
The current Texas law defines the offense of Contraband in Correctional Facility in Penal Code Section §38.114 as follows:
(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
(1) provides contraband to an inmate of a correctional facility;
(2) otherwise introduces contraband into a correctional facility; or
(3) possesses contraband while confined in a correctional facility.
You can be charged with Contraband in Correctional Facility if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 38.114(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Contraband in Correctional Facility is punished as a Class C misdemeanor, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $500, unless commited by an employee or volunteer at the correctional facility.
If the offense is committed by an employee or volunteer at the correctional facility, then a conviction for Contraband in Correctional Facility is punished as a Class B misdemeanor, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to 180 days. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors