The Deadly Weapon in Penal Institution crime in the state of Texas makes it illegal to carry a deadly weapon while in prison. Learn more detailed information about the Deadly Weapon in Penal Institution offense below.
DEADLY WEAPON IN PENAL INSTITUTION ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Deadly Weapon in Penal Institution? Book a consultation to discuss legal representation with criminal defense attorney Paul Saputo today.
Deadly Weapon in Penal Institution is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 10 “Offenses Against Public Health, Safety, and Morals,” Chapter 46 “Weapons.”
The current Texas law defines the offense of Deadly Weapon in Penal Institution in Penal Code Section §46.10 as follows:
(a) A person commits an offense if, while confined in a penal institution, he intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly:
(1) carries on or about his person a deadly weapon; or
(2) possesses or conceals a deadly weapon in the penal institution.
You can be charged with Deadly Weapon in Penal Institution if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 46.10(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Deadly Weapon in Penal Institution is punished as a felony of the third degree, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors