Manufacture, Delivery or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances graphic with texas flag
Manufacture, Delivery or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances graphic with texas flag

Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances

The Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you manufactured, delivered, or possessed a substance listed by the Commissioner of State Health Services but not already included in a penalty group. Learn more detailed information about the Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances offense below.

Have you been charged with Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.

The Texas Commissioner regularly posts update to this list, and you can find the any recent updates on its website here. In addition, you can Texas Drug Schedule.

Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances is classified in the Texas Health And Safety Code under Title 6 “Food, Drugs, Alcohol, And Hazardous Substances”, Chapter 481 “Texas Controlled Substances Act.”

What is the current Texas law about Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances?

The current Texas law is as follows:1

(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly manufactures, delivers, or possesses with intent to deliver a controlled substance listed in a schedule by an action of the commissioner under this chapter but not listed in a penalty group.

(b) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally possesses a controlled substance listed in a schedule by an action of the commissioner under this chapter but not listed in a penalty group.

How can I be charged with Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances?

You can be charged with Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 481.119(a) as described in the section above have been met. How are you supposed to know whether you have a drug listed on this schedule? That’s a harder question to answer because usually it requires a laboratory to analyze the chemical substance in order to know what it is. But for purposes of this law. you can be charged with this offense even if you did not know it was an illegal “Miscellaneous Substance.”

What is the punishment for Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances?

A conviction for Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances under subsection (a) (manufacturing, delivery or “possession with intent”) is punished as a Class A misdemeanor,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to one year, unless one of the two exceptions also described in subsection (a)) applies:

  • If you have been previously convicted of this offense, then a conviction for Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances is punished as a State Jail Felony, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and jail time of up to 2 years.
  • If you have been previously convicted of this offense two or more times, then a conviction for Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances is punished as a Felony of the Third Degree, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years.

A conviction for Manufacture, Delivery, or Possession of Miscellaneous Substances under subsection (b) (“simple possession”) is punished as a Class B misdemeanor,3 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to 180 days. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors


Legal References:
1 Texas Health & Safety Code §481.119. You can be charged under subsection (a) for manufacture /delivery or under subsection (b) for simple possession. The penalty for simple possession is not as severe..

2 Texas Health And Safety Code §481.119(a)

3 Texas Health And Safety Code §481.119(b)

Recent Case Results

  • 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
  • 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
  • Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
  • 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
  • Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
  • Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
  • Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
  • Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
  • Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
  • United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
  • ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
  • Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
  • Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
  • Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
  • Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
  • 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
  • Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
  • Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
  • Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed