The Possession or Transport of Anhydrous Ammonia; Use Of Or Tampering With Equipment crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you possessed or transported Anhydrous Ammonia in a container not designed to hold Anhydrous Ammonia. You can also be arrested if police believe you used, sold, tampered with, or transported equipment or a container designed to hold Anhydrous Ammonia without the owner’s consent. Learn more detailed information about the Possession or Transport of Anhydrous Ammonia; Use Of Or Tampering With Equipment offense below.
POSSESSION OR TRANSPORT OF ANHYDROUS AMMONIA ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Possession or Transport of Anhydrous Ammonia? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305.
Possession or Transport of Anhydrous Ammonia is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 6 “Food, Drugs, Alcohol, and Hazardous Substances,” Chapter 481 “Texas Controlled Substances Act.”
The offense is described in Section 481.1245 of the Texas Heath and Safety Code.
(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
(1) possesses or transports anhydrous ammonia in a container or receptacle that is not designed or manufactured to hold or transport anhydrous ammonia;
(2) uses, transfers, or sells a container or receptacle that is designed or manufactured to hold anhydrous ammonia without the express consent of the owner of the container or receptacle; or
(3) tampers with equipment that is manufactured or used to hold, apply, or transport anhydrous ammonia without the express consent of the owner of the equipment.
You can be charged with Possession or Transport of Anhydrous Ammonia if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 481.1245(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Possession or Transport of Anhydrous Ammonia is punished as a Felony of the Third Degree,1 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
1Texas Health and Safety Code Section 481.1245(b)