" />
attorney next to Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual text

Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual

The Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you unfairly exploited a child, elderly person, or disabled person. Learn more detailed information about the Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual offense below.

Have you been charged with Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305.

Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 7 “Offenses Against Property,” Chapter 32 “Fraud.”

What is the law in Texas about Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual?

The offense is described in Section 32.53 of the Texas Penal Code.

(b) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes the exploitation of a child, elderly individual, or disabled individual.

How can I be charged with Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual?

You can be charged with Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 32.53(a) as described in the section above have been met.

What is the punishment for Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual?

A conviction for Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual is punished as a felony of the third degree,1 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors

What is the statute of limitations for Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual?

The limitations period for Exploitation of Child, Elderly Individual, or Disabled Individual was extended to 7 years, effective September 1, 2017, in the 85th Texas Legislature.2


Legal References:

1Texas Penal Code Section 32.53(c)

2Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 12.01(2)(H), as amended by Senate Bill 998, Section 1, effective September 1, 2017

Published by Criminal Defense Attorney on and last modified