" />
attorney next to False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services text

False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services

The False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you made a misleading written statement to obtain credit or a mortgage loan. You can also be arrested if you made a misleading written appraisal about a property for compensation. Learn more detailed information about the False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services offense below.

Have you been charged with False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305.

False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 7 “Offenses Against Property”, Chapter 32 “Fraud.”

What is the law in Texas about False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services?

The offense is described in Section 32.32 of the Texas Penal Code. Subsections (b) and (b-1) provide two different ways for the offense to be charged by the state’s prosecuting attorneys.

(b) A person commits an offense if he intentionally or knowingly makes a materially false or misleading written statement to obtain property or credit, including a mortgage loan.

(b-1) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly makes a materially false or misleading written statement in providing an appraisal of real property for compensation.

How can I be charged with False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services?

You can be charged with False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of either 32.32(b) or (b-1) as described in the section above have been met.

What is the punishment for False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services?

If the value of the property or amount of credit is less than $100 then a conviction for False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services is punished as a Class C misdemeanor,1 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $500.

If the value of the property or amount of credit is $100 or more but less than $750 then a conviction for False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services is punished as a Class B misdemeanor,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to 180 days.

If the value of the property or amount of credit is $750 or more but less than $2,500 then a conviction for False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services is punished as a Class A misdemeanor,3 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to one year.

If the value of the property or amount of credit is $2,500 or more but less than $30,000 then a conviction for False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services is punished as a State Jail Felony,4 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and jail time of up to two years.

If the value of the property or amount of credit is $30,000 or more but less than $150,000 then a conviction for False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services is punished as a Felony of the Third Degree,5 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years.

If the value of the property or amount of credit is $150,000 or more but less than $300,000 then a conviction for False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services is punished as a Felony of the Second Degree,6 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 20 years.

If the value of the property or amount of credit is $300,000 then a conviction for False Statement To Obtain Property Or Credit Or In The Provision Of Certain Services is punished as a Felony of the First Degree,7 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and up to life in prison.Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors


Legal References:

1 Texas Penal Code Section 32.32(c)(1)

2 Texas Penal Code Section 32.32(c)(2)

3 Texas Penal Code Section 32.32(c)(3)

4 Texas Penal Code Section 32.32(c)(4)

5 Texas Penal Code Section 32.32(c)(5)

6 Texas Penal Code Section 32.32(c)(6)

7 Texas Penal Code Section 32.32(c)(7)

Published by Criminal Defense Attorney on and last modified