The Illumination of Aircraft by Intense Light crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you pointed a laser pointer at an aircraft. Learn more detailed information about the Illumination of Aircraft by Intense Light Crime offense below.
ILLUMINATION OF AIRCRAFT BY INTENSE LIGHT ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Illumination of Aircraft by Intense Light? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
In response to a rising concern that the proliferation of high-powered lasers pose a risk to airliners if used inappropriately, the Texas state legislature created this offense in 2007 in House Bill 1586.
Illumination of Aircraft by Intense Light is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 9 “Offenses Against Public Order and Decency”, Chapter 42 “Disorderly Conduct and Related Offenses.”
The current Texas law is as follows:1
A person commits an offense if:
(1) the person intentionally directs a light from a laser pointer or other light source at an aircraft; and
(2) the light has an intensity sufficient to impair the operator’s ability to control the aircraft.
The law requires a specific intent in this case, but the law does not require the aircraft to be impaired. So long as the light source is actually powerful enough to affect the pilot, then subsection (2) applies. The state prosecuting attorneys may, however, have a difficult time proving that you intended to shine the laser pointer at the aircraft.
You can be charged with Illumination of Aircraft by Intense Light if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 42.14(a) as described in the section above have been met.
You can be convicted even if the light did not actually impair the airplane. The light itself has to be bright enough to be able to cause distress to the pilot, which is really a question about the nature of the light, not a question of what happened in the specific instance. If the light did in fact impair the operator’s ability to control the aircraft, then the state’s attorneys can use this to enhance the offense to a Class A misdemeanor.2
A conviction for Illumination of Aircraft by Intense Light is punished as a Class C misdemeanor,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $500. But the state of Texas can charge this offense as a Class A misdemeanor, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $4,000 and up one year of jail time, if they believe you impaired the pilots ability to control the aircraft. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed