The Arson crime in the state of Texas makes starting a fire or causing an explosion illegal under certain dangerous circumstances. Arson includes recklessly starting a fire that damages people or property, with intent to damage property or in the process of manufacturing illegal drugs. Learn more detailed information about the Arson offense below.
ARSON ATTORNEY FAQs
The Arson offense does require the state to prove a specific intent, unless the fire or explosion caused damage to property or injury to a person. If the fire caused damage or injury, then the state only has to prove that you were reckless.
Have you been charged with Arson? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
Arson is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 7 “Offenses Against Property”, Chapter 28 “Arson, Criminal Mischief, And Other Property Damage Or Destruction.”
The current Texas law is as follows:1
(a) A person commits an offense if the person starts a fire, regardless of whether the fire continues after ignition, or causes an explosion with intent to destroy or damage:
(1) any vegetation, fence, or structure on open-space land; or
(2) any building, habitation, or vehicle:
(A) knowing that it is within the limits of an incorporated city or town;
(B) knowing that it is insured against damage or destruction;
(C) knowing that it is subject to a mortgage or other security interest;
(D) knowing that it is located on property belonging to another;
(E) knowing that it has located within it property belonging to another; or
(F) when the person is reckless about whether the burning or explosion will endanger the life of some individual or the safety of the property of another.
(a-1) A person commits an offense if the person recklessly starts a fire or causes an explosion while manufacturing or attempting to manufacture a controlled substance and the fire or explosion damages any building, habitation, or vehicle.
(a-2) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally starts a fire or causes an explosion and in so doing:
(1) recklessly damages or destroys a building belonging to another; or
(2) recklessly causes another person to suffer bodily injury or death.
You can be charged with Arson if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 28.02(a) as described in the section above have been met.
However, there is an exception to a Subsection (a)(1) offense. In addition to proving the that there you intended to burn open-space land, the state also has to prove that the fire or explosion was not a part of the controlled burning of open-space land.2
If you obtained a municipal permit to burn something, then you might still be subject to an Arson prosecution by state attorneys, but you can assert a defense at trial that prior to starting the fire or causing the explosion, you obtained a permit or other written authorization granted in accordance with a city ordinance regulating fires and explosions.3
If the offense falls under subsection (a), then a conviction for Arson is punished as a Felony of the Second Degree (with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 20 years), unless the fire caused any injury or the property was a home or place of worship, in which case the offense is punished as a Felony of the First Degree (with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and up to life in prison).4
Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
If the offense is related to manufacturing illegal drugs under subsection (a-1), then a conviction for Arson is punished as a State Jail Felony (with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and jail time of up to 2 years), unless the fire causes serious bodily injury or death, in which case it is a Felony of the Third Degree (with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years).5
If the state does not prove a specific intent and only obtains a conviction under the “reckless” subsection (a-2) offense, then a conviction is punished as a State Jail Felony,6
with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and jail time of up to 2 years.
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed