The Robbery crime in the state of Texas requires the state’s attorneys to prove that while committing a theft you threaten or cause bodily injuries to a person. The Texas offense of Theft is described in our Texas Theft Crimes page. Learn more detailed information about the Robbery offense below.
ROBBERY ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Robbery? Book a consultation to discuss legal representation with criminal defense attorney Paul Saputo today.
Robbery is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 7 “Offenses Against Property,” Chapter 29 “Robbery.”
What is the current Texas law about Robbery?
The current Texas law defines the offense of Robbery in Penal Code Section §29.02 as follows:
(a) A person commits an offense if, in the course of committing theft as defined in Chapter 31 and with intent to obtain or maintain control of the property, he:
(1) intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) intentionally or knowingly threatens or places another in fear of imminent bodily injury or death.
How can I be charged with Robbery?
You can be charged with Robbery if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 29.02(a) as described in the section above have been met.
What is the punishment for Robbery?
A conviction for Robbery is punished as a felony of the second degree, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of 2 to 20 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors