The Improper Contact with Victim crime in the state of Texas prohibits contacting the person who accuses you of a “registrable” sex-related offense if you are confined in a correctional facility and don’t have permission from the victim or victim’s guardian. Learn more detailed information about the Improper Contact with Victim offense below.
IMPROPER CONTACT WITH VICTIM ATTORNEY FAQs
A very important exception to this offense (technically it is an “affirmative defense”) is that your attorney may make contact with the accuser in the course of representing you in a criminal proceeding.1
Have you been charged with Improper Contact with Victim? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
Improper Contact with Victim is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 8 “Offenses Against Public Administration,” Chapter 38 “Obstructing Governmental Operation.”
The current Texas law is as follows:2
(a) A person commits an offense if the person, while confined in a correctional facility after being charged with or convicted of an offense listed in Article 62.001(5), Code of Criminal Procedure, contacts by letter, telephone, or any other means, either directly or through a third party, a victim of the offense or a member of the victim’s family, if:
(1) the victim was younger than 17 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense for which the person is confined; and
(2) the director of the correctional facility has not, before the person makes contact with the victim:
(A) received written and dated consent to the contact from:
(i) a parent of the victim;
(ii) a legal guardian of the victim;
(iii) the victim, if the victim is 17 years of age or older at the time of giving the consent; or
(iv) a member of the victim’s family who is 17 years of age or older; and
(B) provided the person with a copy of the consent.
Article 62.001(5) refers to “reportable” offenses, meaning the certain sex-related crimes that require registration as a sex offender if you are found guilty. This list of offenses triggers the Improper Contact with Victim offense.
In addition, the Improper Contact with Victim offense is punished as a felony as described below if you have already been convicted of one of these offenses. The complete list of reportable offenses are found in the state statute here
You can be charged with Improper Contact with Victim if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 38.111(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Improper Contact with Victim is punished as a Class A misdemeanor,3 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to one year, if the Article 62.001(5) charge underlying the offense has not resulted in a conviction at the time the contact was made.
If you were convicted of a felony Article 62.001(5) offense at the time the contact was made, then a conviction for Improper Contact with Victim is punished as a Felony of the Third Degree,4 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to 10 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed