The Voyeurism crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if they believe you “spy” (for sexual purposes) on someone without their consent in a place that should be considered private. Learn more detailed information about the Voyeurism offense below.
VOYEURISM ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with Voyeurism? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
Unlawful Disclosure of Intimate Visual Material is a closely related law. The Voyeurism offense was created in 2015 by Texas SB 1135. In the same legislative session, HB 207 created the Unlawful Disclosure of Intimate Visual Material offense. Each of these offenses were labeled Penal Code Section 21.16. Both offenses are classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 5 “Offenses Against The Person” and Chapter 21 “Sexual Offenses.” Learn more about Unlawful Disclosure of Intimate Visual Material
The current Texas law is as follows:1
(a) A person commits an offense if the person, with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of the actor, observes another person without the other person’s consent while the other person is in a dwelling or structure in which the other person has a reasonable expectation of privacy.
As described below, subsections (b), (c) and (d) categorize the punishment levels for the offense.
You can be charged with Voyeurism if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 21.16(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Voyeurism is punished as a Class C Misdemeanor,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $500, unless the victim is under 14 or the state can prove you have two or more previous Voyeurism convictions.
If you have two or more prior convictions, the Voyeurism offense can be punished as a Class B misdemeanor,3 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to 180 days.
If the victim was a child younger than 14 years old at the time, then the offense is punished as a State Jail Felony,4 with a maximum fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and up to 2 years in a state jail. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed