Unlawful Possession of a Firearm or (“UPF“) in Texas is a gun crime that applies to people who have been convicted of a felony, convicted of a family violence assault or under a family violence-type protective order. This Texas law prohibits those people, described in more detail below, from carrying firearms. Separate federal law also applies to firearm possession by felons.
UNLAWFUL POSSESSION OF A FIREARM ATTORNEY FAQs
Have you been charged with UPF? Call criminal defense lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
The Texas UPF law does not apply to felons after 5 years has passed from the later of the person’s release from confinement parole or community supervision if the firearm was found at the person’s house. Similarly, the UPF law does not apply to people who have been convicted of family violence crimes more than 5 years after the person was released from jail or community supervision (whichever was later).
The current Texas law is as follows:1
(a) A person who has been convicted of a felony commits an offense if he possesses a firearm:
(1) after conviction and before the fifth anniversary of the person’s release from confinement following conviction of the felony or the person’s release from supervision under community supervision, parole, or mandatory supervision, whichever date is later; or
(2) after the period described by Subdivision (1), at any location other than the premises at which the person lives.
(b) A person who has been convicted of an offense under Section 22.01, punishable as a Class A misdemeanor and involving a member of the person’s family or household, commits an offense if the person possesses a firearm before the fifth anniversary of the later of:
(1) the date of the person’s release from confinement following conviction of the misdemeanor; or
(2) the date of the person’s release from community supervision following conviction of the misdemeanor.
(c) A person, other than a peace officer, as defined by Section 1.07, actively engaged in employment as a sworn, full-time paid employee of a state agency or political subdivision, who is subject to an order issued under Section 6.504 or Chapter 85, Family Code, under Article 17.292 or Chapter 7A, Code of Criminal Procedure, or by another jurisdiction as provided by Chapter 88, Family Code, commits an offense if the person possesses a firearm after receiving notice of the order and before expiration of the order.
It is important to understand that the Texas UPF law is only one of many weapons-related charges that may be applicable in your case. Other offenses like Unlawful Carrying Weapons (“UCW”), the Section 46.05 “Prohibited Weapons” offense or the Section 46.03 “Places Weapons Prohibited” offense may be applicable. In addition, federal firearms laws may be applicable, and you may be prosecuted by the U.S. Attorney for such federal crimes.
Another important note is that the statute limits the applicability of UPF to each class of individuals it covers. Your criminal defense lawyer may argue that your conviction and release from prison, jail or community supervision is too “remote,” and therefore you are not covered. This is different from the “statute of limitations” for the offense.
A firearm is defined in Texas Penal Code Section 46.01(3):
“Firearm” means any device designed, made, or adapted to expel a projectile through a barrel by using the energy generated by an explosion or burning substance or any device readily convertible to that use. Firearm does not include a firearm that may have, as an integral part, a folding knife blade or other characteristics of weapons made illegal by this chapter and that is:
(A) an antique or curio firearm manufactured before 1899; or
(B) a replica of an antique or curio firearm manufactured before 1899, but only if the replica does not use rim fire or center fire ammunition.
UPF is punished as a third degree felony if it is charged under subsection (a), but it is punished as a Class A Misdemeanor if it charged under subsection (b) or (c).2
UPF is different from Unlawful Carrying Weapons (UCW) primarily because UPF only applies to people who have been convicted of a felony, convicted of a family violence assault or under a family violence-type protective order while UCW applies to everyone except those who are specifically exempt.3 Learn more about UCW
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed