The Fraudulent, Substandard, or Fictitious Degree crime in the state of Texas prohibits you from using a fake college degree or one that doesn’t belong to you in an attempt to get a job or for some other advantage. Learn more detailed information about the Fraudulent, Substandard, or Fictitious Degree offense below.
FRAUDULENT SUBSTANDARD OR FICTITIOUS DEGREE ATTORNEY FAQs
An important limitation to this offense, as described below, is that it only applies to a “postsecondary” degree, so it does not include a high school diploma.
Have you been charged with Fraudulent, Substandard, or Fictitious Degree? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
Fraudulent, Substandard, or Fictitious Degree is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 7 “Offenses Against Property,” Chapter 32 “Fraud.”
The current Texas law is as follows:1
(b) A person commits an offense if the person:
(1) uses or claims to hold a postsecondary degree that the person knows:
(A) is a fraudulent or substandard degree;
(B) is fictitious or has otherwise not been granted to the person; or
(C) has been revoked; and
(2) uses or claims to hold that degree:
(A) in a written or oral advertisement or other promotion of a business; or
(B) with the intent to:
(i) obtain employment;
(ii) obtain a license or certificate to practice a trade, profession, or occupation;
(iii) obtain a promotion, a compensation or other benefit, or an increase in compensation or other benefit, in employment or in the practice of a trade, profession, or occupation;
(iv) obtain admission to an educational program in this state; or
(v) gain a position in government with authority over another person, regardless of whether the actor receives compensation for the position.
You can be charged with Fraudulent, Substandard, or Fictitious Degree if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 32.52(b) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Fraudulent, Substandard, or Fictitious Degree is punished as a Class B misdemeanor,2 with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to 180 days. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed