If you were stopped by police and arrested for DWI in Collin County, Texas, it’s normal to feel worried and stressed about what this could mean for your future. Suppose you took a breathalyzer or blood test and your blood alcohol content (BAC) was above the legal limit of .08. In that case, you may assume that there is nothing you can do to fight these charges since there is evidence proving that you were driving while intoxicated. However, when dealing with a DWI charge in Texas, having an experienced DWI attorney on your side who understands what you are going through and can fight for your freedom will make all the difference.
Whether you failed a breath or blood test or did not pass a field sobriety test, there are multiple defense strategies that a seasoned Collin County DWI attorney can utilize in your defense. Various factors can affect the outcome of any test that law enforcement uses to determine whether a driver is intoxicated. By assessing the testing used against you and examining every aspect of your case, an experienced attorney can accurately determine how to demonstrate a rights violation or factual innocence in court at your hearing.
Get Help From an Experienced DWI Defense Attorney in Collin County, Texas
At Saputo Law Firm, we are here to defend you against DWI charges in Collin County, Texas. As experienced attorneys who handle felony DWI, repeat DWI offense, and DWI accident cases, we provide our clients with the aggressive representation necessary to prevent a conviction.
While all DWI charges in Collin County are unique, our Saputo Law Firm DWI attorneys always begin with the aim of getting your DWI charge dismissed or reduced to a lesser traffic ticket. When you partner with Saputo Law Firm, you can rely on excellent client satisfaction and positive results, as shown by our 5-star ratings and reviews.
Types of DWI Charges in Texas
When most people think about a DWI, the first image that often comes to mind is someone who was stopped for driving while under the influence of alcohol. While this is true, various other DWI charges can lead to an arrest in Collin County. Outlined under Texas Penal Code, Chapter 49, anyone can face numerous DWI charges in Texas that include:
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
- DWI (2nd offense)
- DWI (3rd offense) felony
- DWI with a child a passenger
- Intoxication assault
- Boating while intoxicated
- Intoxication manslaughter
At Saputo Law Firm, our Collin County DWI defense lawyers have successfully defended clients charged with these offenses and can use our experience to your advantage in putting you in the very best position to win your DWI case.
What are the Penalties for a DWI in Collin County?
While each DWI offense involves separate penalties, all deal with an individual operating a vehicle while impaired by drugs or alcohol. Below are the consequences you may face when charged with a first offense DWI charge or repeat charges.
Why Should I Hire a Dallas DWI Lawyer?
Our knowledgeable attorneys, led by Paul Saputo, understand how challenging a DWI arrest can be for you, which is why we’re dedicated to remaining by your side throughout the legal process and helping you fight for your rights.
First DWI Offense
A first offense DWI in Texas is considered a class B misdemeanor, and the penalties include:
- A fine of up to $2,000 if BAC is below .15
- A jail sentence of 3-180 days in BAC is below .15
- Driver’s license suspension of 90-365 days
- A fine of up to $4,000 in BAC is .15 or higher
Second DWI Offense
A second DWI offense within five years of the first one includes steeper penalties, such as:
- A fine of up to $5,000
- A jail sentence of 30-365 days
- Driver’s license suspension of 180 days to 2 years
- An ignition interlock device (IID) installed on the vehicle
Third or Subsequent DWI Offense
A third offense DWI in Texas is considered a third-degree felony that carries the following penalties:
- A fine up to $10,000
- Incarceration of 2-10 years
- Driver’s license suspension of 180 days to 2 years
- Disqualification from owning a firearm or voting
Other Factors to Consider
If a DWI resulted in injuries or death, the penalties are more severe. Even with a first-time DWI charge, when a passenger under the age of 15 is present, you could be charged with child endangerment. A DWI with a child passenger carries strict penalties that include $10,000 in fines, two years’ incarceration, and the loss of driver’s license for 180 days.
A Collin County DWI defense lawyer at Saputo Law Firm can explain the specific penalties in your particular case that you may face.
What Should I Do After a DWI Arrest in Collin County?
After a DWI arrest in Collin County, Texas, you must act swiftly. You only have 15 days from the date of your DWI arrest to request an administrative hearing concerning your driver’s license. Failing to request an administrative hearing within the timeframe will result in an automatic driver’s license suspension. For immediate assistance on your DWI in Collin County, please contact the Saputo Law Firm and speak with one of our accomplished DWI lawyers over a scheduled consultation.
Speak with a Collin County DWI Lawyer at Saputo Law Firm Today
Whether it’s your first or third DWI offense, a conviction in Collin County can drastically impact your life. At Saputo Law Firm, we can help you fight for justice while defending your rights and reputation. Led by senior defense attorney Paul Saputo, our firm has a highly successful record of acquittals, dismissals, and reduction in DWI charges. We stand by our clients through each step of their case and zealously advocate for their freedom and rights. To speak with an experienced Collin County DWI attorney today, complete a contact form or call at 888-239-9305.
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed