Continuous Sexual Abuse of Young Child or Children is a criminal offense where a person (17 years or older) commits two or more sexual acts against one or more victims younger than 14 years of age within a 30 day time period or longer. Because the offense requires a pattern of sexual abuse, it carries a higher punishment then any of the single sex crimes on which it is based.1
CONTINUOUS SEXUAL ABUSE OF YOUNG CHILD OR CHILDREN ATTORNEY FAQs
- What is the current Texas law about Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child?
- What is “sexual abuse“?
- Who can be charged with Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child?
- Who qualifies as a “child” under the law?
- What is the punishment for Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child?
- What are the possible defenses?
- How long will I have to register as a sex offender if I am convicted for Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child?
Have you been charged with Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child? Call criminal lawyer Paul Saputo at (888) 239-9305 to discuss legal representation.
Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child is a relatively new offense in the Texas Penal Code. The offense was created as part of a bill called “Jessica’s Law,” passed in the 2007 Regular Session of the Texas Legislature as House Bill 8. At the time, the nationwide call for tougher sex offender laws throughout the United States had Texas legislatures examining Texas criminal sex offenses. Prior to 2007, there was no law punishing a sex offender’s pattern of engaging in multiple child sex offenses.
The current Texas law is as follows:2
(1) during a period that is 30 or more days in duration, the person commits two or more acts of sexual abuse, regardless of whether the acts of sexual abuse are committed against one or more victims; and (2) at the time of the commission of each of the acts of sexual abuse, the actor is 17 years of age or older and the victim is a child younger than 14 years of age.
Subsection (b)(2) was amended slightly in H.B. 1808 (85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session) in an attempt to clarify that it does not matter whether you know the age of the accuser at the time of the offense. Even if they gave you a validly-issued government driver’s license, looked like they were 30, you met them at a bar and have a spouse, you can still be convicted of this offense. Subsection (b)(2) looks like this effective September 1, 2017:3
(2) at the time of the commission of each of the acts of sexual abuse, the actor is 17 years of age or older and the victim is a child younger than 14 years of age, regardless of whether the actor knows the age of the victim at the time of the offense.
The jury does not have to agree unanimously on the specific acts of sexual abuse or the exact dates on which the abuse occurred.4 The jurors only have to agree unanimously that two or more acts of sexual abuse were committed by the defendant during a period that is 30 or more days in duration. The state’s attorney does not need to prove that all sexual abuse acts were committed against the same victim.5
For example, a person has committed Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child by committing indecency with a child against Jane Doe (age 8) on March 2, 2008 and by committing sexual assault against John Doe (age 13) on May 2, 2008. However, if a person commits sexual assault against Jane Doe on March 1 and commits sexual assault against John Doe on March 29, the element of “within a 30 day period” has not been met. The person may still be convicted of two separate instances of Sexual Assault.
Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child does not contain a statute of limitations.6 In other words, a person may be prosecuted for this offense at any time regardless of how long ago the offense occurred.
As described above, Continuous Sexual Abuse of Young Child offense requires multiple acts of “acts of sexual abuse.” A person who has committed one of the following offenses has committed an act of sexual abuse for purposes of committing Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child:7
- Aggravated Kidnapping with the intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually (PC §20.04(a)(4))
- Indecency with a Child (by contact with genitals or anus but not breast) (PC §21.11(a)(1))
- Sexual Assault (PC §22.011)
- Aggravated Sexual Assault (PC §22.021)
- Burglary of a Habitation with the intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually (§30.02(d))
- Sexual Performance by a Child (PC §43.05)
- Trafficking of Persons (PC §20A.02(a)(7) or (8))
- Compelling Prostitution (PC §43.05(a)(2))
However, the prosecuting attorneys are not supposed to charge a person with one of the offenses listed above and Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child for the same victim unless (1) the person is charged in the alternative, (2) the offense occurred during less than a thirty day time period, or (3) it is found to be a lesser-included offense.8 A person who has committed multiple counts of sexual assault against a single child victim is only supposed to be charged with a single count of Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child.9
The alleged victim(s) must be younger than 14 years of age at the time the assault occurred, and the accused person must be at least 17 years old.10 For example, if John Doe (17 years old) commits sexual assault against Jane Doe (13 years old) on March 1, 2015 and again on April 1, 2015, John Doe has committed Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child. However, if John Doe (17 years old) commits sexual assault against Jane Doe (15 years old) on the same two dates, John Doe has not committed Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child, although he could still be prosecuted by the state’s attorneys under other sex crimes laws. Additionally, a 17 year old in this circumstance may have an affirmative defense, as described in more detail below.
The Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child statute defines child as a person younger than 17 years old.11 However, the statute also limits its applicability to prosecutions of child abuse offenses where the alleged victims are 13 years old or younger.12 Therefore, a person has not committed this particular offense if the victim is 14 years old or older.
The punishment for Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child is a first-degree felony.13 A felony in the first degree is punishable by 5-99 years in prison, or life, and a maximum fine of $10,000.14 However, Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child carries a special minimum punishment of 25 years (see footnote 13). Persons convicted of Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child are not eligible for parole.15
Everyone is entitled to a jury trial, and the most common defense is to fight the state’s attempt to prove you “guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.”
However, there is an affirmative defense against prosecution of Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child called the “Romeo and Juliet” defense.16 This defense would protect two younger people who are close in age, such as a 17-year-old senior in high school and a 13-year-old freshman in high school. This defense only applies if “the actor is not more than five years older than the victim, the actor did not use duress, force, or a threat, and the actor is not a registered sex offender” (see footnote 16).
If you are convicted of Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child, generally speaking, Texas law requires you to register for life.17 Note that this determination can, technically, be more complicated. But practically speaking, these convictions will require lifetime registration. If you’re interested in what could make it more complicated, read footnote 17 below.
(c) In this section: (1) “Child” means a person younger than 17 years of age.
17 Texas Code of Criminal Procedure §62.101(a)(1) requires lifetime registration for all “sexually violent offenses,” a term that is described at § 62.001(6)(A) to include Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child. §62.101(a)(1) has three big exceptions that apply to all lifetime registration requirements: “Except as provided by Subsection (b) and Subchapter I” and for an “adjudication of delinquent conduct.” Subsection (b) refers to discretionary transfers to criminal court from juvenile court proceedings, and Subchapter I refers to early termination procedures. Because you have to be 17 years old at the time of offense to be convicted of Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young Child, these cases won’t be in juvenile court (see Texas Family Code §51.02(2)), and there won’t be an adjudication of delinquent conduct for the same reason. It is, however, technically possible for you to be eligible for early termination, but it is a relatively narrow situation.
Recent Case Results
- 2019 Not Guilty in Collin County DWI >0.15
- 2019 Not Guilty in Dallas County Indecency with a Child
- Oral Argument at the United States Federal 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on Prosecutorial Misconduct Claim arising out of Northern District of Texas
- 2018 Not Guilty in Martin County Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon on a Peace Officer
- Not Guilty in 2018 Dallas County DWI Trial
- Client cleared in Dallas Police Shooting wrongful accusation
- Federal sentencing results in 10 Year Downward Deviation from Sentencing Guidelines in 2018
- Not Guilty Jury Verdict for client originally accused of Intoxication Manslaughter
- Case Dismissed after picking jury in Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child case in 2017
- United States Attorney dismisses case against client charged in El Paso Federal Court with Possession of Child Pornography
- ALL CHARGES DISMISSED against our client in the Twin Peaks Waco Biker case
- Client “No-billed” by grand jury investigating shooting death case
- Coverage of Case Involving Waco teacher sending messages to student
- Judge returns a Directed Verdict of Acquittal in case involving trainer of professional athletes
- Rare Not Guilty verdict in Rockwall County DWI
- 2016 Dismissal of Fort Worth Federal Possession of Obscene Visual Representation of the Sexual Abuse of Children
- Hill County Money Laundering case Dismissed and civil asset forfeiture assets returned
- Coverage of teen Lewisville client charged with hit-and-run death
- Two Montague County Indecency with a Child cases Dismissed