The Aggravated Robbery crime in the state of Texas gives police the right to arrest you if during a robbery you cause bodily injuries to a person or exhibit use of a deadly weapon.
AGGRAVATED ROBBERY ATTORNEY FAQs
We discuss what “robbery” means on our Texas offense page for Robbery. Learn more detailed information about the Aggravated Robbery offense below.
Have you been charged with Aggravated Robbery? Book a consultation to discuss legal representation with criminal defense attorney Paul Saputo today.
Aggravated Robbery is classified in the Texas Penal Code under Title 7 “Offenses Against Property,” Chapter 29 “Robbery.”
The current Texas law defines the offense of Aggravated Robbery in Penal Code Section §29.03 as follows:
(a) A person commits an offense if he commits robbery as defined in Section 29.02, and he:
(1) causes serious bodily injury to another;
(2) uses or exhibits a deadly weapon; or
(3) causes bodily injury to another person or threatens or places another person in fear of imminent bodily injury or death, if the other person is:
(A) 65 years of age or older; or
(B) a disabled person.
You can be charged with Aggravated Robbery if the state’s attorneys believe that each of the elements of 29.03(a) as described in the section above have been met.
A conviction for Aggravated Robbery is punished as a felony of the first degree, with a maximum possible fine under Texas state law of up to $10,000 and prison time of 5 to 99 years. Learn about the differences between grades of felonies and misdemeanors